Join Today

Senate Confirms Next National Guard Bureau Chief, ANG Director

By Jennifer-Leigh Oprihory

The Senate in a pair of July 20 voice votes confirmed the next leaders of the National Guard Bureau and the Air National Guard. Army National Guard Director Lt. Gen. Daniel R. Hokanson will receive a fourth star to serve as the 29th National Guard Bureau chief and become a member of the Joint Chiefs of Staff. Hokanson will succeed USAF Gen. Joseph L. Lengyel, who has led NGB since August 2016 and is expected to formally pass the torch in early August. The Senate also confirmed Colorado Adjutant General Maj. Gen. Michael A. Loh to receive his third star and succeed Lt. Gen. L. Scott Rice as Air National Guard director. Rice has led the Air National Guard since May 2016. A change-of-command date hasn’t yet been announced.